Why Another Food Blog?

Standard
grapehyacinth

Grape Hyacinth in Connecticut

Why in the world would we need another food blog?  We don’t.  This isn’t really a food blog.  This is a lifestyle blog.  A lot of what is posted here will be about food, but it is much, much more.

I knit, crochet, quilt, sew, enjoy photography, cook, culture, ferment, bake, grow, write, muse, think, rest, parent, cogitate and meditate.  I am trying to grow much of my own food with limited space, limited energy and limited sunshine even.  I would grow almonds and lemons in my house if I could.  I would grow figs, apples, pineapples and bananas if I could.  Alas, I am limited so I grow pears, tomatoes, cucumbers, snow peas, pumpkins, and whatever else will grow here in New England.

What might be different in this blog will be an oft repeated theme: GMOs.  I discovered the nightmare of genetically modified organisms or GMOs a few months ago.  What I discovered shocked and frustrated me.  Why? Because 20 years ago those who are hired to protect us from unhealthy and unsafe things sold out and allowed GMOs without any public comment, evaluation, input or even notification.  GMOs were birthed in secret, in the dark, and so quietly that people would not become aware until the next millenia.

After researching GMOs I decided that I wanted to avoid them.  No problem, right? Wrong. GMOs are not labeled in the U.S.  They are hidden in most foods sold here.  So avoiding GMOs is easier said than done.

One alternative is to just switch to all organic foods.  No problem, right?  Well, that isn’t as easy as it sounds, either.  Not only are organic foods more expensive, there are not item for item substitutes for all conventional foods.  This required rethinking food.  This turned out to be a very good thing.  This opened me up to amazing, new foods, food health concepts, food preparation methods, and foodies.  I love foodies.  They are amazingly smart people.  I don’t consider myself a foodie yet, but I am on my way.

With this background, what is the purpose of this blog?  To aid other parents and individuals in the transition from conventional foods to healthier, non-GMO, and hopefully organic foods.  To deviate from the normal food path that most Americans find themselves on.  Much of what I post will be delicious.  Learning to enjoy yogurt, kefir, kombucha won’t be so difficult if it is balanced with delicious cupcakes, homemade ginger ale, freshly baked bread, and yummy meals.  I am not a vegetarian or vegan.  My kids would rebel (they are older, some adults even), and I would rebel.  I can’t afford organic or grass-fed meat, either, so don’t worry about extremes here.

I hope you join me as I share how to pack healthy school lunches, provide healthy breakfasts, bake GMO-free cupcakes,  learn lacto-fermentation, test the boundaries of gardening, capture my surroundings, and transition into a new life.

Leave a Reply

