Moist, Tender Chia Bread

Standard
Beautiful loaf of chia bread

Beautiful loaf of chia bread

Over the summer I made most of my bread by hand, two loaves at a time. Since the holidays my life became much busier and I was so thankful for my trusty bread machine. But, to be honest, my regular bread machine bread was just so boring. It was nutritious, yes, but boring. The other day I had an impulse to try something different and poured some chia seeds in my bread machine while mixing the dry ingredients. Then I thought: “Why don’t I try some of the organic coconut oil I have in my pantry?” So that’s what I did. Oh, what a delicious combination. I just had to share my simple recipe. I do not scrimp on my bread ingredients: they are all organic. I pay $3.29 for organic bread at the big box store, and upwards of $5 a loaf in the health food store. I can make a loaf of organic bread for less than $1.

Although the recipe indicates 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 bread flour, you can change the proportions a bit with just a slight difference in texture. I made a wonderful loaf with 3 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of bread flour. I will be experimenting with all whole wheat flour and adding gluten in the future.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sifted organic whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups sifted organic bread or all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1-2 Tbsp dry chia seeds
  • 1-2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1-1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 2-1/2 tsp dried yeast
Baking in Bread Machine
  • In a glass measuring cup combine warm water, dried yeast and sugar; stir until dissolved. Allow to sit while adding the rest of ingredients to the bread machine.
  • Do not use whole wheat setting. I set my bread machine for a regular or large loaf. This is more than a 1-lb loaf, so you might want to set it for a large loaf.
  • Place flours, chia seeds and salt in bread machine and allow it to mix for a minute or so. Add coconut oil (mine is solid since it is cool in the house — I do not melt it before adding). Allow to mix for another minute or so and then add the proofed yeast mixture.
  • Check your dough: After the kneading cycle begins, let it knead for at least 2-3 minutes, pause your bread machine and check the dough ball for consistency. It should be formed into a dough ball, soft and just slighly sticky but not too sticky. If it is really hard add a 1/4 cup of water and restart. Flour in the winter is drier than flour in the summertime so adjusting the amount of liquid might be necessary.
  • When machine signals that bread is done, remove from pan immediately and allow to cool on its side before slicing, if you can.
Baking in Oven
  • In a glass measuring cup combine warm water, dried yeast and sugar; stir until dissolved. Allow to sit while adding the rest of ingredients to the bread machine.
  • Set bread machine for dough setting.
  • Place flours, chia seeds and salt in bread machine and allow it to mix for a minute or so. Add coconut oil (mine is solid since it is cool in the house — I do not melt it before adding). Allow to mix for another minute or so and then add the proofed yeast mixture.
  • Check your dough: After the kneading cycle begins, let it knead for at least 2-3 minutes, pause your bread machine and check the dough ball for consistency. It should be soft and sticky but not too sticky. If it is really hard add a 1/4 cup of water and restart. Flour in the winter is drier than flour in the summertime so adjusting the amount of liquid might be necessary.
  • When machine signals that dough cycle is completed, remove dough onto a floured surface (this will naturally punch it down) and begin to form into a loaf. It is not necessary to knead the dough at this point. Place in a greased* bread pan, brush or spray with oil**, loosely cover with plastic wrap, and place in warm, draft-free place for final rising. I place my pan near the stove and turn it on to preheat to 350 degrees F.
  • When dough is above the edge of the pan, remove plastic wrap and place in oven. Bake for 30 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and immediately remove from pan. Allow to cool on its side.

*Solid fat is the best choice for greasing the bread pan. I use lard but there are organic vegan alternatives. Just don’t use GMO Crisco, please.

**Most baking sprays are made with GMO canola. I use a pump oil sprayer but you can find organic baking sprays in health food stores.

2 responses »

  1. This is the best bread I’ve ever made in my bread machine. I used rice bran oil because I didn’t have coconut. I didn’t sieve – just put the water in the machine first and the other ingredients on top with the yeast last (which I hadn’t activated – I used a bread machine yeast mix). Thanks

    Like

    • So glad that the recipe worked for you. I have since discovered rice bran oil as well, and not only is it good for bread it makes a wonderful mayonnaise because of its mild flavor. Enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

