Winter Storm Nemo or Charlotte

Standard

We survived Winter Storm Nemo or Charlotte as it was referred to here in Connecticut. Looks like a total of about 2 feet of snow fell. We never lost electricity for which we are extremely thankful. By mid-day yesterday the snow had slowed down to a very light snow, but the wind had kicked up a notch or two or three. We got a pathway from the house, up the driveway and to the cars, with the cars and end of the driveway cleared but that was it. It was just too cold to stay outside for long yesterday. Hoping we can move a lot of snow today as it warms up above freezing. Here are some photos I took yesterday. I plan to take a lot more today and will post those separately.

Friday night snow on the deck.

Friday night snow on the deck.

I was awakened at 4 AM Saturday morning to a Blizzard Alert on my cell phone. Um, the storm had been raging for over 12 hours and I just now get an alert? I decided to get up and clear the front steps. I needed to clear a path for the dog to get out so she could do her thing. Thirty minutes later I had about 18 feet done and my 22 year old son was up. He said he couldn’t believe his mom beat him outside shoveling. I have always been the head shoveler in this family, even with a little baby. I had to do it or it didn’t get done. So, of course, I was out shoveling snow at 4:30 AM.

Before clearing the snow away from the driveway entrance.

Before clearing the snow away from the driveway entrance taken before 6 AM.

My 22yo shoveling the path up the driveway.

My 22yo shoveling the path up the driveway at 6:30 AM.

Making a path through the snow up the driveway.  About 3/4ths of the way done here.

Making a path through the snow up the driveway. About 3/4ths of the way done here.

Almost reached the cars.  We always park at the top of the driveway so we can get out faster after a storm.

Almost reached the cars. We always park at the top of the driveway so we can get out faster after a storm. The wind has blown a lot of the snow away from the cars.

And finally, here is the best shot of them all: This is TJ, our adventurous, snow-loving, water-loving cat. He is always the first one to venture out into the snow. This time, however, he was not enjoying himself one bit. He started crying and as I walked to find him in the path that we had cleared there he was, plopped down having given up on ever finding his way back to and into the house. He was miserable. I took the shot and then my 12 year old immediately let him back in the house where he has stayed ever since with absolutely no interest in going outside.

TJ not enjoying the snow and wind one bit

TJ not enjoying the snow and wind one bit

7 responses »

  1. Oh, poor little TJ!! I know that feeling he’s expressing. I can’t imagine how you could shovel 18 feet of snow at 4 in the morning. You are a pioneer woman. xoxoxox

    Like

    • It was out of necessity. Poor little dog was doing the potty dance and she needed someplace to go. As a woman you learn to do what needs to be done as you are well aware. I always want to be able to enjoy physical outdoor work. It is so much nicer than indoor work anytime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

