Good bacteria, healthy gut

Standard

Yogurt, raw honey, wild blueberries and homemade vanilla extract

Yogurt, raw honey, wild blueberries and homemade vanilla extract

How could you NOT read this blog post with a catchy title like that? Yesterday I bought an extra half gallon of milk with the intention of making yogurt. I have been paying almost $5 for a quart of organic yogurt. I could make my own for half that price.

When I had organic dairy goats I made yogurt at least once or twice a week. My kids love smoothies so this was one of the best ways to use the abundance of raw milk that we got. Because it was raw milk I did a quick pasteurization, allowed it to cool to 85-100 degrees and then stirred in yogurt from my last batch.
fermenting7
But today I am starting with milk that had already been pasteurized so I just put it in my favorite, thick ceramic bowl, whisked in some of the Seven Stars Farm organic yogurt I had (1-2 tablespoons) and put it on my 1970’s slow cooker base. I discovered that the low setting on this old base keeps the culture mixture at about 110 degrees. Perfect!

If I am making coffee or cooking I sometimes must make adjustments to this setup so it doesn’t get too warm. I set the slow cooker base on low, inserted my candy thermometer, covered with waxed paper or plastic wrap and a kitchen towel. A couple of hours later I checked the temp. All good.

Later in the day I had started my food dehydrator which definitely warmed up the kitchen quite a bit. When I checked my yogurt the temperature was a little too high so I just pulled the towel back to the side and let the yogurt continue to culture.
yogurt3
I like my yogurt with more flavor so I allow it to culture overnight. If you don’t really like a strong yogurt flavor, just culture it until it sets then jar up and refrigerate.

Using my canning funnel I filled two quart-sized glass canning jars and had 2 very full quarts of organic yogurt that was mild, so smooth, and very healthy.

My favorite way to eat yogurt is with either raw honey or agave, a little bit of my homemade vanilla extract and some organic blueberries from my freezer. Just a little bit of heaven.
yogurt4
Now I can make some frozen yogurt, too, with yummy berries, a little organic sugar or honey, and vanilla.

Oh, and what is this about a healthy gut? Scientists are beginning to think that the bacteria in the gut are tied to the immune system and even mental health. Since I struggle with chronic Lyme disease I want to make sure I get some good bacteria each day. I am hoping I can heal my body with this food and others.

Give it a try! You won’t believe how easy it is to make your own yogurt.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! This makes it sound very easy.
    About how many hours do you let it sit? I would be nervous to mess it up, but I guess it is worth a try!
    Thanks for the post. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    Like

  2. Culturing foods is very, very easy. As far as how long, I don’t have a timer but usually at least 12 hours or a little more. What you are looking for is the texture first, then the taste. If you want a milder yogurt, then when it thickens you are done. If you leave it a little longer you get a stronger taste and more probiotics.

    Like

Leave a Reply

