Second year gardening

Standard
Aunt Molly's Ground Cherry

Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry

Last year was the first year I had grown a garden since I got sick in 2006. With the help of my big sons and even one of my son’s friends, my raised beds were rebuilt and a new area was dug for gardening. This year I want to add several square raised beds in a variety of places and will double the size of my front yard garden where I will be planting popcorn, Romano beans and probably pumpkins again (even though I swore I wouldn’t with the horrible problems I had last year with squash vine borers). It is just the best spot for those three crops as long as we take a few trees down around the perimeter of the yard.

I also decided to pull out the invasive ground cover in the flower bed growing near my driveway as it actually grew underneath the siding and was in the workshop. Everything is coming out of that bed and I will be planting veggies and herbs there instead. Why I didn’t think of that last year, I don’t know. But I am thrilled to have some more garden space without too much work (although pulling out that rose bush won’t be easy).

I started some seeds indoors today:

  • Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry
  • Yellow Pear Cherry Tomato
  • Pomegranate Tomato
  • Broccoli
  • Chives
  • Quadrato Giallo D’Asti Pepper
  • Flat Leaf Parsley
  • Genovese Basil
  • California Wonder Red Bell Pepper (open-pollinated)
  • Sweet Marjoram
  • Sonora Anaheim Pepper

All of the seeds above recommend starting indoors at least 6 weeks before the last frost and some 8-10 weeks.

IMG_9382

Now I must create a grow light area for these babies. Last year I kept my seedlings in a south-facing window sill and they were leggy by the time I got them in the ground. I have an extra shop light laying around and just need to build a frame with adjustable hanger. I might be heading down to my son’s huge pile of wood he got from pallets.

Happy seed starting!

2 responses »

  1. Re your “About”–have you read the book Wheat Belly? Really, the best thing going for health-seekers. Some real revelations in there and cutting out wheat per the book eliminated my father’s thyroid problem AND his diabetes. Cured them. Heirloom is definitely worth converting to–the book is about that in a way.

    Like

    • Funny that you mention that: I am working on a trial of gluten free for me and my kids. Need to have everything in place and all of the wheat products locked up so we don’t accidentally ingest wheat. I haven’t read that book but wheat seems to be a issue for a lot of people. Thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

