Just Grow It!

Standard

There can be no other occupation like gardening in which, if you were to creep up behind someone at their work, you would find them smiling. ~Mirabel Osler

Red cabbage seedlings

Red cabbage seedlings


Up here in New England we are still dealing with snow, daily. Night before last we got about 2.5 inches of sleet. Last night snow showers covered my car but didn’t accumulate on the ground. Temps are dropping down below freezing when the sun goes down. We are still waiting for spring up here.

For my southern friends you are happily digging away, watching things sprout, planting and starting your growing season with delight. I am fighting jealousy like never before.

I started a lot of seeds over a week ago, and then several egg cartons full throughout the week. I have green growing things here, too. Tiny ones. But they are green and they are growing and I got to play in the dirt even if it was in my kitchen.

Here is my exhortation for the week: Just grow it!

If you have never grown your own food then I encourage you to go to the garden center, buy one large pot, buy a bag of organic compost (yes, please buy organic), buy a package or two of heirloom seeds, and plant something. Keep the soil moist, keep in a warm place, keep a watch on that pot, and wait for it. The miracle will make even those with the brownest thumbs converts. You just planted seeds and they germinated. You have the promise of home grown tomatoes, or herbs, or beans, or cucumbers. Plant something even if it is a pot of lettuce and radishes (the easiest to grow, by the way).

I have inexpensive landscape fabric that I will be transforming into grow bags. I will be growing tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, and squash in grow bags this year (just decided this morning). They need the extra warmth, to be up off the ground, and access to the most sunlight. And although I do plan to build some new raised beds, I think I can get the most sunlight around my driveway where there really isn’t room for raised beds.

Driveway container garden: parsley, oregano, beans, and tomatoes

Driveway container garden: parsley, oregano, beans, and tomatoes


Okay, everyone: Just Grow It!

Start a new trend in your neighborhood. Grow something edible (heirlooms, please for seed saving purposes). Just Grow It!!!

You can do this. Need some other ideas for easy-to-grow veggies in containers? Don’t forget herbs. They are so very easy to grow in containers. Here is a short list:

  • Green beans on a simple trellis
  • Peas, snow peas, sugar snap peas
  • Lettuce, spinach
  • Radishes
  • Bunching onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumbers

All of the above grow easily in containers. Water, organic fertilizer, and sunlight will reap you a wonderful harvest. Just grow it!

4 responses »

  1. great post! I love the quote! I had the pleasure of working in a greenhouse this past week and it brought a steady smile to my face all day long despite our snowy weather outside, and we got more snow by the end of the week! alas, starting seeds this time of year makes me truly happy and gives me joy! seeing something sprout is fascinating and literally makes me giddy with excitement! Just grow it awesome! I will pass it on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

