Refrigerated bread dough: Quick flatbread

Standard

Yesterday after I got home from school I remembered that we had no bread for the next day’s school lunches. So I put ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough setting. I then completely forgot about it. I was very tired after a day of back pain, two nights of poor sleep (from back pain), class, and even a quick stop at the grocery store; by the time I got home I had just enough energy to do homework and then I was done for the day (after getting that bread dough started). My 19yo usually makes dinner on days when I have afternoon classes so I didn’t need to worry about that. I managed to make it to 8:15 p.m. before I knew I couldn’t stay awake any longer. I went into the kitchen, got youngest off the computer (he spent the evening working on a texture pack for Minecraft) and on his way to bed, saw that bread machine and then remembered that I had started bread dough. I forgot to form and bake it. I was so tired that all I managed to do was dump it on my bread board, wrap it in plastic and put it in the fridge. I figured I would bake it in the morning.

5 a.m. this morning I pulled out the dough and realized that there is no way it would come to room temperature and rise with enough time to actually bake so the boys would have bread for sandwiches and breakfast. Not to worry. There is always a way to make bread quickly in a pinch. I have done it before.
flatbread1
I sliced and rolled out one at a time, plopped it into my large cast iron skillet (ungreased) and let it cook on medium-low while I worked on lunches, breakfast and getting the boys up. Soft, yummy flatbread it was. I ended up with the temp on 3 (electric stove) for a softer bread, about 3-4 minutes per side.
flatbread2
I brushed them with olive oil when done and allowed to cool on the large wire rack. By the time I was finished making 6 (I left the rest of the dough for later) the first few were cool.

Quick, soft flatbread made from refrigerated whole wheat yeast dough

Quick, soft flatbread made from refrigerated whole wheat yeast dough

Whole Wheat Dough

Combine in 2 cup measuring cup:

  • 1-1/2 cups warm water
  • 1 Tbsp instant yeast
  • 1 Tbsp sugar

Stir until yeast and sugar are dissolved. Put aside.

In bread maker pan place the following ingredients:

  • 4 cups flour (3 cups whole wheat/1 cup bread or unbleached flour or all whole wheat flour)
  • 1-1/2 tsp sea salt

Start dough cycle to combine flours and salt. After a minute or two add warm water/yeast mixture and 1 Tbsp olive oil (or any other non-GMO oil).

After dough has risen remove from pan, punch down, bag up and refrigerate until ready to use.

Leave a Reply

