And the boulder loses

Standard

IMG_0005

Yes, the big rock, maybe not quite considered a boulder, was vanquished by my 19 year old son. He had a little help and he used a ramp, tow strap, 2×4, 2×10, and me leaning on a pole on the other side a little bit.

It left a huge hole which my son, at my request, threw in a pile of rotten firewood, I will throw in some smallish rocks and then I will fill with soil (and hope there is enough). That was a big rock.

I am looking forward to finishing my front vegetable garden. Almost there. I will be attempting to grow popcorn this year just for fun (and we do eat popcorn).

I planted spinach and beets in my garlic bed out back which have already popped up. I just sowed some bunching onions in a little spot in the same bed. I sowed snow pea seeds in the other large raised bed in back. In the newly tiered flower bed I sowed aichi cabbage, broccoli, bok choy, lettuce, and red cabbage seeds which have germinated and are growing slowly. I put a few red, yellow, and sweet onion sets in that bed as well. I have been moving some of the herbs that survived the winter to containers and other flower beds.

I take photos and it looks like nothing is there, or it is just dirty, or grey and ugly. So I will wait until it looks prettier before sharing photos of all that is going on.

Even though not much is going on outdoors, my seedlings are growing strong so I can plant them out the second week of May.

Even though not much is going on outdoors, my seedlings are growing strong so I can plant them out the second week of May.

Hope your spring gardening is going well!

Leave a Reply

