Oh, the waiting!

Standard

You would think I was waiting for a vacation to Ireland, or the birth of a new grandchild, or the arrival of a big check (though, all of those would be lovely and that check would be most welcome). No, I am waiting for warmer weather so I can transplant my heat-loving seedlings like tomato, eggplant, and pepper, and the most exciting of all: Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry.

I wait. I was thinking about putting a few out this weekend but changed my mind when I checked the 10-day weather forecast. Next Monday, the temps will drop to 40 degrees at night again. That is just too cold and just not worth the chance. No, it isn’t frost or freezing weather, but it will stress those plants. I will keep being their slave instead, carrying them all outside in the morning and back indoors in the evening (because I don’t have a greenhouse or even a cold frame). I will keep waiting.

My Swiss chard seeds germinated, finally. It only took them 11 days. It says on the packet 1 week. That is 7 days, right? Mine took 11 days. But they are up!!! I have never grown Swiss chard before now.

Swiss chard germinating after 11 days, finally!

Swiss chard germinating after 11 days, finally!

As a matter of fact I have never grown the following that I am growing this year:

Swiss Chard
Leeks
Red cabbage (okay, I started some plants too late last fall)
Onions, red, yellow and sweet
Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry
Sonora Anaheim peppers
Pickling cucumbers
Early Wonder Beets
Garlic- Chesnok Red hardneck and white softneck
Aichi Chinese cabbage (tried last fall but no go)
Romano pole bean
Strawberry popcorn
Cocozelle Di Napoli squash (green)

I did transplant out some broccoli, red cabbage, leek, and bok choy seedlings a few days ago. They are doing fine with the cool nights so far, and we aren’t expected to have any more frosts so I’m hopeful for a decent crop. If I get even one head of cabbage I will be thrilled. It is difficult to grow up here with our short growing season.

And here is how the garden looks this week. I know. It isn’t very exciting, but it is green and growing and promising yummy organic produce in coming months so I am thrilled.

Terraced garden beds with dwarf bok choy, onions, lettuce, Aichi Chinese cabbage and broccoli

Terraced garden beds with dwarf bok choy, onions, lettuce, Aichi Chinese cabbage and broccoli

Back yard garden area

Back yard garden area

Spinach, garlic, beets, onions and newly germinated Swiss chard

Spinach, garlic, beets, onions and newly germinated Swiss chard

Early wonder beets

Early wonder beets

Baby spinach almost ready to start cutting outer leaves so it can continue to produce

Baby spinach almost ready to start cutting outer leaves so it can continue to produce

Teepee trellis with twine

Teepee trellis with twine. Romano pole beans are planted on the left section.

And lest you think I am even the tiniest bit patient, I dug up my Romano pole bean seeds to see if they were germinating. Yes, they are. Back they went, hoping that I didn’t damage them. I know no one else has ever dug up a seed to see if it is germinating. Patient, I am not. I did have to wait 11 days for Swiss chard to germinate. My parsley didn’t take that long, and it is said that parsley seeds must go all the way to hell and back before germinating because they take so long. Seriously! I am chomping at the bit to get my garden really started. That’s okay. I still have 1.5 weeks left in this semester and need the time to study. It’s all good. Happy gardening!

4 responses »

    • I have only dug up the beans (just two of them) and last year checked on the snow peas. It was so warm last night, but that 40-degree night next week has me nervous. I will just wait, and try to be patient. It has been fun watching your garden come to life, too, Michele, and you inspired me to add some perennials to my flower beds.

      Like

      • thanks! I’m enjoying your garden too. I was reading your post when my husband sat down at the computer earlier. He really liked your bean teepee. I’m looking for a spot for one now!

        Like

      • I am almost finished with the bean teepee. Just need to run the vertical twine lines. Still waiting for those beans to poke up. Any time now. Any time (tapping foot). lol Have fun with yours.

        Like

Leave a Reply

