Connecticut Garden – July Update Part 1

Standard

Meadow frittilary on common milkweed

Meadow frittilary on common milkweed


We have had two full weeks of warm weather with temps going no lower than mid-60’s at night. With amazing growth in the garden has brought bugs, pests, mosquitoes, squash bugs, leaf beetles, a variety of moth larvae. It takes a lot of time checking every plant, beneath every leaf, picking off slugs, beetles, creepy crawlies that want to eat my plants. I am so glad that I’m not squeamish. I can squish a caterpillar with my bare hands. Muahaha . . .

But that isn’t all that’s going on in the garden. No, there are also the deer. I headed out to the garden a few days ago and discovered that one or more deer had pruned 11 of 12 tomato plants in my front garden. My single stem indeterminate tomato plants are now bush varieties. I will consider it a forced experiment in topping indeterminate tomato plants to see if they do well as bushier plants. Why not? When life gives you lemons it is definitely time to make lemonade.

The next day I forced the boys outside in the rain with me at dusk fighting off swarms of mosquitoes to put up the cattle panels that I use for fencing. They worked last year so I am hoping they work again. Typically, a fence of 8 feet is required to keep deer out of the garden. I want to buy some aluminum pie plates to hang along the fence to aid in deterring critters from visiting my garden.

Okay, enough of the challenges. Here is what has happened in the past week.

Backyard garden protected by cattle panels

Backyard garden protected by cattle panels

Most exciting is the cucumber growth since covering the ground around the bean teepee with fresh compost

Most exciting is the cucumber growth since covering the ground around the bean teepee with fresh compost

Moskovich tomato

Moskovich tomato

San Marzano plum tomatoes

San Marzano plum tomatoes

From left: parsley, basil, ground cherry (front), Yellow bell peppers (center), eggplant (back)

From left: parsley, basil, ground cherry (front), Yellow bell peppers (center), eggplant (back)

Aunt Molly's Ground Cherry

Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry

Red cabbage looking prettier than a rose

Red cabbage looking prettier than a rose

My first and only head of broccoli so far

My first and only head of broccoli so far

Deer-pruned tomato plants bushing out nicely

Deer-pruned tomato plants bushing out nicely

Pickling cucumber plants in the front garden being trained up the tomato trellis

Pickling cucumber plants in the front garden being trained up the tomato trellis

Strawberry popcorn bordered by black beans which have just started to bloom

Strawberry popcorn bordered by black beans which have just started to bloom

Dwarf bok choy seed pods

Dwarf bok choy seed pods

Northern brown snake is welcome in my garden

Northern brown snake is welcome in my garden

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

