Worm Doodles in my Garden, Oh My!

Standard

When I was a child growing up in Miami, Florida, the sidewalks would be covered with earthworms after it rained. In the mornings, I would find little piles of soil balls that I dubbed worm doodles. I have called them that ever since.

Vermiculture, Vermicomposting, or Worm Composting

We are talking worm poop here. And what wonderful stuff this is that worms create from organic matter in the soil, burrowing, eating, then pooping out little balls full of nutrition and beneficial microbes that they bring up to the surface.

Former pumpkin bed now growing lots of baby kale and ground cherries.

Former pumpkin bed now growing lots of baby kale and ground cherries, inches deep in some places with worm castings.


I was looking for slugs in my maturing kale (in the garlic bed) this morning, being quite successful I might add, when I saw what I initially thought was a small snake. Looking closer, I realized that the creature was a huge earthworm. I have so many earthworms in the former pumpkin bed that the entire surface of the soil is covered with worm doodles, or worm castings, waste material that is highly prized by gardeners, a nutritious, natural fertilizer that also contains beneficial microbes that are reputed to fight disease and strengthen plants.

The process of composting using earthworms is known as vermicomposting or vermiculture. Apartment dwellers can worm compost in containers using just kitchen scraps. Red wrigglers are recommended for bin composting as they will do their thing in the top 2 inches of soil while the worms we have here burrow down much deeper.

Worm castings in my pumpkin bed

Worm castings in my pumpkin bed


After a little online research, it looks like the giant earthworms that I have in my garden and yard are Canadian nightcrawlers, an invader from the north. Actually, all earthworms in the northeastern United States are invaders. Apparently, fishermen throw leftover earthworms on the ground when they are finished fishing and these worms are changing the face of the land by altering the pH of the soil in forests and eating leaf litter reducing the layers of fallen leaves to almost nothing (this is true, and I have actually wondered about this when walking my property). Whether this phenomenon will turn out to be detrimental to the environment over time is yet to be seen. Scientists are concerned for the trees; reducing the acidity of the soil will affect native trees over time.

Smaller Canadian nightcrawler I found in my compost pile

Smaller Canadian nightcrawler I found in my compost pile


Some of the earthworms I have found in my garden and compost pile were 8 inches long.

After researching this morning, I went out to my back yard garden, scooped up worm castings and fertilized my peppers, squash and tomatoes. I will continue to redistribute the abundant worm castings to other parts of my gardens and make a point of moving more of the earthworms from the compost pile to each of my garden areas so that they can do their magic everywhere.

Celebrating earthworms here today!

5 responses »

  1. Nice article Michele! I have been vermicomposting for quite a few years now. I love it!! I love how fast worms eat my trash and how amazing their castings are for my garden.

    Like

  2. I’m doing some vermicomposting at work. We bought red wrigglers online and we’re using a plastic storage container that I keep under my desk. We started with shredded paper and some vegetable scraps and they went to town. we made a great batch of compost tea (after about three months) that we’ve used on marked plants in the garden. If it really takes off we’ll start putting the compost directly into the soil. I guess the “tea” was also kind of for educational impact too, so the men and women I would with would see it as food… I want to start a bin at home when we grow lots of new worms and run out of space. I didn’t know that earthworms weren’t native to our environment? I never would have thought that?

    Like

Leave a Reply

