Waiting for the Snow

Standard

Winter Storm Chester (here in Connecticut we name our own storms, thank you very much) is projected to hit late this morning. Although I do not relish the cleanup after the storm, I do look forward to the fresh covering of snow on this brown and grey landscape. After the snow falls, going outside is like walking into a hushed room where the quiet is so profound it always makes me stop and listen, amazed. I enjoy shoveling snow because of this quiet. Indoors, the refrigerator, computer, boiler, dog and cats make constant noise. There is a never-ending buzz. Outside after a snow storm, the quiet is delightful. I feel the tension begin to melt away and my mind starts to think new, less cluttered thoughts; I breathe deeper with each shovelful of snow. This beautiful quiet spells pleasure for me. Anticipation has me in its grip. I feel like a small child, nose pressed to the glass waiting for the first snowflakes to fall from the grey winter sky.

Waiting for the snow . . .

Mountain laurel and White Pine tree are only color in my snow-less winter landscape

Mountain laurel and White Pine are the only green in my snow-less winter landscape

Leave a Reply

