A snail stuck to the side of a starship, holding on for dear life

Standard

Thinking about starting seeds . . . last year's crop long gone

Thinking about starting seeds . . .


I wrote a paper on The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood. Yes, the whole thing in three hours.

I wrote a discussion post on my perception of Kurt Vonnegut.

I looked out the window and wished the snow away.

I thought about starting seeds.

I thought about my doctor’s appointment yesterday. Sigh.

It is the last day of February 2014 and life is moving along at a furious pace while I move at the pace of a snail (yet, miraculously accomplish something each day — I have no idea how).

I was driving home from the doctor’s office and thinking. I think a lot when I am driving, as I have mentioned before. I had a vision of mankind moving along, some at a walking pace, some at a driving pace and others at a flying pace, while plummeting through space at an insane speed (for a human body) on a huge ball of rock and magma. I was humbled and awed by the movie running in my head. Then it was so funny that later that night I watched an episode of Star Trek: Voyager on Netflix about how Voyager got sucked into orbit around a planet that allowed them to witness a civilization progressing at the rate of years per minute because of a huge time variance between the two. It was such a perfect ending to how I was feeling about the speed of matter in space and time, and my very small, extremely slow life.

I am going to make myself a humble lunch now in my humble kitchen, slowly and carefully. I will saute’ some onions, grate a little cheese, and cook up a yummy omelette using delicious organic eggs with a side of raw red peppers (because I learned that heat destroys Vitamin C). A lot of organic ingredients have been unavailable at my local grocery store lately. Hmmm, could it be that the demand is far greater than the supply, and farmers and suppliers need to catch up to consumer demands? I like this trend (except we need to watch for imports from Canada which are imports from China). I need to start those seeds, soon.

TGIF, y’all!

Dreaming of Texas . . . and fresh tomatoes . . . and warm days . . . and grandbabies . . . and how small, yet rich my life really is.

My new grandson and two-year-old granddaughter who are far away in Texas

My new grandson and two-year-old granddaughter who are far away in Texas (their mommy is a doctor and their daddy works in oil and gas while remodeling their house — talk about fast-paced lives)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

