Learning about . . . sustainability, food, water, social changes

Standard

wholeearthsummit
I have never attended an online conference in my life. I don’t like sitting and listening — I am a visual learner, so listening to speakers is difficult for me. But I signed up immediately for the Whole Earth Summit for many reasons. I am passionate about protecting the land from poisons: pesticides, herbicides, chemicals, and so on. I am against the growing of genetically modified crops in the open because they contaminate and destroy organic crops. I am an advocate for individuals growing as much of their own food as they can even if it is one container of tomatoes. I support farmer’s markets and avoid grocery stores whenever possible.

Although I will not agree with much of the “social changes” that will be advocated during some sessions, I plan to listen to what they say because what we are doing now isn’t working. Humans must change how they live or we won’t leave much of a planet for our children and their children and future generations. Something has to change.

I will encourage my 20 year old son to listen as well because apparently my generation doesn’t have any real answers to the problems we face (we aren’t acting like we do). We are too comfortable to do anything about what is wrong. So we will look to future generations to clean up our messes just like we have been cleaning up the industrial messes of the generation(s) that went before us.

This summit is free. After signing up with only an email address and a name, once the conference begins you can access the sessions for 48 hours after presentation. I will be taking notes. I will write down ideas and names and places and then research later so that I can better understand what is being discussed.

For those who just don’t know what all of the fuss is about, please, please take a little time to listen to a few of the speakers. I especially recommend Dr. Vandana Shiva. She speaks to the nature of the seed and the need to preserve its genetic integrity. I also recommend Peter Bane (permaculture) and Joel Salatin (organic farming). The rest of the names I do not recognize, but I plan to read their bios (posted on site) and do a quick internet search so I can map out a listening schedule.

If you have ever wondered what permaculture is or why organic gardening is so different from conventional farming, this is your chance to find out.

I am in no way being recompensed for recommending this conference. I am an attendee only. NAYY (not affiliated yada yada).

I think it is time to consider that change is necessary. I think it is time . . .

Leave a Reply

