Google now controls the weather!

Standard

I woke up this morning and found my Gmail page looking like this:

Snow on my Gmail page, set up to reflect my local weather. No snow was projected, though.

Snow on my Gmail page, set up to reflect my local weather. No snow was forecast, though, just rain.

I told my 20-year-old son about how silly Google was being today. We have rain forecast (it has been raining off and on since yesterday) and temps are not supposed to get below 34° F all day long.

A couple of hours later he comes running out of his room yelling, “Liar! LiAR!!!” (I immediately imagined Miracle Max’s* wife’s hilarious voice), telling me to look outside. I turn around and cannot believe what I am seeing. It is snowing! Of course, the first thing I think about is what a mess this could make of my day: I have class, a PTK meeting and then an interview for an article all scheduled for today. Snow doesn’t fit this paradigm of busyness.

After a few minutes of snow. No big deal, right?

After a few minutes of snow. No big deal, right?

Update at 9:30 a.m.: My 11 a.m. class was cancelled. I still have a meeting and interview depending on the weather.

Snow slows down and then the sleet starts. Heavy, large sleet. Now I really need to move my car to the top of the driveway.

Had to turn off traction control to get up. Got a little iffy for a few seconds but I made it.

Had to turn off traction control to get up. Got a little iffy for a few seconds but I made it.

That is about 1/2″ of sleet on the driveway. My neighbor didn’t make it up his driveway (much steeper than ours). I took a quick video with my phone:

Click to watch a YouTube video I uploaded of the sleet

Click to watch a YouTube video I uploaded of the sleet

Here in Connecticut, spring, April in particular, can bring temperatures in the 90s, blizzards, torrential rains, thunderstorms, high winds, record lows, and anything else you might think of weather-wise. I guess the crazy weather figured it would start one day early on the last day of March.

How did Google know it was going to snow when the local meteorologists all said it was going to rain? They must control the weather. No other explanation, right? Laughing at the whole situation.

Happy spring from New England!

*character in Princess Bride

2 responses »

    • Yes, spring is finally here. We have another month or so before we can plant most veggies and herbs but we are above freezing during the day now. Very happy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

