Amber Alert System

Standard

I lived in fear for years that one of my blond-haired children would be abducted, never to be seen again. My oldest was a baby when John Walsh’s son was kidnapped and brutally murdered.

Anyone that knows me knows that my kids were not allowed out of my sight when we were in public. I used slings, Snugglies, backpacks and even a toddler leash to keep me connected to my little ones. Was I paranoid? I do not think so. I won’t share statistics on how many children go missing every year never to be seen again, but the numbers are shocking.

What can we do to protect children who are abducted? Sign up for your state’s Amber Alert System using your smart phone. Yep, there is an app for that.

Moments ago, I received an Amber Alert Message with a big red triangle on my phone. On that short message, which looks like a text message, is the town where the alert originated, the license plate of a vehicle, and the make, model and color of that vehicle.

When I am driving to Middletown for my mythology final this afternoon, I can keep my eyes open. If I see the vehicle, I will call 911 and report its location.

I also “Liked” Amber Alert Facebook pages for my surrounding states of New York, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Vermont and New Hampshire, though since Facebook got stingy with notifications I don’t see anything pop up for these pages anymore.

If you are in Connecticut, keep your eyes open for a 2004 Red Volkswagen Jetta with license plate numbers: 876 YGJ (Connecticut). There is an Amber Alert tied to that vehicle.

UPDATE: The three children that were the focus of this Amber Alert, were found safe in Maine with their non-custodial mother by detectives. This is a great ending to a potentially dangerous situation. I am relieved.

Leave a Reply

