Touched Out – Parenting for Introverts

Standard

Introverts recharge and find peace in quiet places away from other people.

It isn’t intentional. It isn’t a choice. Being around other people is stressful and tiring for those of us who live with introversion even though we love being around people. We have no control over this aspect of our personalities.

It all becomes really complicated when we have children. Babies need a lot of touching, holding, contact. I breastfed all of my children, on demand, the last one until he was two years old. Additionally, I carried or wore my babies to help with bonding, sensory and vestibular system development, and building trust.

I am glad that I heard of this term when my youngest came along, because it was comforting to know that other mothers experienced what I did: I would reach a point where I couldn’t stand being touched near the end of the day.

I am not sure it is tied to being an introvert, but it seems logical to connect this phenomena to introversion.

What AM I talking about?

Being touched out.

Little ones requiring constant attention, nursing babies, attending to the needs of toddlers, changing diapers, hugging, holding, rocking, swinging, wearing, sleeping . . . touched out. Hitting sensory overload.

I had to hire a woman to give me a few hours a week away from my children. The tough part was that I really needed quiet time, but I took what I could get. I would take a book with me and go eat lunch in my car in a park or go for a walk. Oftentimes I had to do my shopping which was kind of counterproductive, but, again, I took what I could get.

So ladies, if you are touched out at the end of the day find someone else to take care of the kids, handle bedtime routines or bath times, and give yourself a little quiet time when necessary.

Take care of yourselves.

Leave a Reply

