Playing in the dirt

Standard

I did it! I finally went out into my back yard garden and started getting the beds ready to plant. Okay, I confess that I mostly just pulled out some monstrous weeds that were taking over.

Beautiful blueberries!

Beautiful blueberries!


I know I am at least a month behind this year, but my garden needs to work around my physical limitations and schedule.

Walking back to the house out of breath and feeling weak, I was still smiling. I had dirt beneath my fingernails and weeds piled up ready to be carried to the back compost pile. I said “Welcome!” to lots and lots of earthworms.

Just remember that this is a "Before" shot. It is all potential at this point. Those raised beds are filled with busy earthworms doing their thing. The soil is heavenly -- soft and dark brown, full of organic matter and microbes.

Just remember that this is a “Before” shot. It is all potential at this point. Those raised beds are filled with busy earthworms doing their thing. The soil is heavenly — soft and dark brown, full of organic matter and microbes.


I refuse to be discouraged. I am really struggling physically (chronic Lyme disease). Although I have occasional days when I am not wiped out, most of the time I feel my legs turning to jelly when I try to walk any distance — and the shortness of breath is the worst of all.

Last night I walked up and down a flight of stairs with barely a notice. Today, I got out of breath walking up the small hill from my back yard to my front yard. But my back yard raised beds look so much better than when I started. I hope to get seeds in the ground this weekend — everything is just going in the dirt. No indoor seed starting this year. I am winging it!

I am inviting Serendipity to do her thing!

My 21yo son cleaned out the patch where I have allowed Common Milkweed to do its thing hoping to do my part for Monarch butterflies. I started with three plants two years ago, and now have at least 20 plants.

My 21yo son cleaned out the patch where I have allowed Common Milkweed to do its thing hoping to do my part for Monarch butterflies. I started with three plants two years ago, and now have at least 20 plants.

Oh, I found some volunteer lettuce plants in the grass in front of the terraced garden bed yesterday. I dug up one little Romaine lettuce plant and put it in the soil where I want it. I plan to dig up the rest and move those baby lettuce plants so they don’t get mowed down.

Lettuce volunteers growing in the grass. I allowed a few lettuce plants to go to seed last fall, and this is what they gave me -- offspring!

Lettuce volunteers growing in the grass. I allowed a few lettuce plants to go to seed last fall, and this is what they gave me — offspring!


Now, I will take a little nap. See you later on this warm Saturday in May!

17 responses »

    • and do you cover up your blueberries? Do the birds eat them? I just posted a pic of mine. They are planted right under the window of a neighbor who swears that the birds will eat them up. I’m usually a wait and see person about this stuff but I’m trying to get a jump on this one.

      Like

      • I put nets over the plants right before they start to ripen, usually when the first berries start to turn red. Yes, birds will eat every single berry if I don’t protect them. I do leave three of my bushes uncovered for the birds so they are certainly not being deprived.

        Like

    • Homegrown is best! No pesticides, no GMOs, and no E coli or salmonella. It is great exercise and the Vitamin D from the sun is important for overall health, even the immune system.

      Like

  1. I love the pics michele! So glad your going back out there in the soil. Would love to have a bed full of worms…fish food. I definately dont have a green thumb. I love nature though. I walked out tonight and smelled perfume…the grass im sure. I took in a deep breath and thanked God for the loveliness of it all. Smh

    Like

    • It is so beautiful outside. I was especially happy to see so many Common Milkweed plants coming up. I hope Monarch butterflies make it here this year; I saw none last year.

      Like

  2. I love monarchs! I even love the cousins…viceroys. the orangy ones look like the monarchs but its the yellow I like. I love it when they come through the area…one after another like flying in a formation. Butterflies have my heart and butterfly bushes are a must have. They attract butterflies like nothing else. Love love love

    Like

    • I just read an article that butterfly bush might actually be harmful to butterflies because they attract them but do not make good host plants for the larvae, and some cultivars are considered invasive. I just have the one. I want to get a spicebush but my driveway area along with red twig dogwoods, both of which are native.

      Like

  3. Oh…its pretty warm here and im not loving that. But worse than that are the dreaded deerflies. My gosh they are terrible…they just dont leave me alone. I seriously cant wait till theyre gone…then off to connecticut…wink šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Michele when we were kids you know I found a luna moth laying dead at the bottom of the light pole…huge and beautiful!

    Like

      • That was the first and the last time I had seen one. Would love to see them again. Such a glowy greenish color. The antennae look like lil glowy greenish feathers. Btw im sure your probably right about the butterfly bushes. But thats all that I have right now. Maybe something different in the future. Your my go to gal for advice in that department.

        Like

Leave a Reply

