New England Garden Journal – June 2, 2014

Standard

Seeds Germinating

Bok choy: I had to look really close, but there were three rows of bok choy coming up at the end of the bush bean row.

Dill: This afternoon (but not this morning), there are little dill seedlings popping up all over the Suyo Long cucumber bed.

Apparently, dill seeds germinate best if scattered on top of the soil and kept moist. Voila! Dill seedlings. Last year I had a horrible time with dill.

And now, since my little seedlings are really too small to photograph yet, here are some other photos that I took this morning.

Around the property

Kousa dogwood tree blooming this year

Kousa dogwood tree blooming this year

Small sassafras tree. Its neighbor is over 4 feed tall now, but the light was beautiful on this one.

Small sassafras tree. Its neighbor is over 4 feed tall now, but the light was beautiful on this one.

Boots refuses to look at me after I chased her out of the bok choy bed

Boots refused to look at me after I chased her out of the bok choy bed. She can really hold a grudge.

Iris fighting with invasive Japanese barberry that we spend a LOT of timing pulling up.

Invasive yellow iris (Iris pseudacorus) fighting with invasive oriental bittersweet that we spend a LOT of timing pulling up.

Ronan checking out the new vantage point -- this is what is left of the tree that came down

Ronan checking out the new vantage point — the tree that came down popped back up when the rest of the tree was cut away

Here is what is left of the tree. Our neighbor took half of the logs for firewood and we took the rest.

Here is what is left of the tree. Our neighbor took half of the logs for firewood and we took the rest.

4 responses »

    • Since I grew up in Miami (with a year in Ventura, CA) and then lived the next 11 years in Texas, and then back to Florida, the only iris I was familiar with was the African iris which I used abundantly in my front yard landscape in St. Petersburg. Since moving up north, I have been amazed at the huge variety of volunteer plants that are obviously spread by birds. This yellow iris is beautiful but it is invasive. I plan to transplant native daylilies to that spot in place of those irises over the summer, and to encourage the bee balm and evening primrose in that spot as well.

      Like

  1. I love the yellow iris too but not if it causes problems. Of course the typical iris that I planted in my yard is suitable…not invasive. I always look forward to the blooms. The purple looks sooo great. Its bunching up terribly in a spot. Will have to divide it and replant them. Ahhh…I love irises!

    Like

    • It is listed as an invasive, it isn’t a noxious weed like ground ivy which has taken over my front yard. I have tried to plant cultivar irises but they don’t overwinter well. These yellow ones always come back. I take beauty wherever I can find it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

