New England Garden Journal – June 2014 – Part 2

Standard

Broccoli volunteer that is already blooming. I will save the seeds since this is an open pollinated, heirloom variety.

Broccoli volunteer that is already blooming. I will save the seeds since this is an open pollinated, heirloom variety.

It has been raining off and on for days upon days. I have taken advantage of this break from the garden while it does its thing without much help from me to work on homework for my summer class, complete a grant application, and deal with my kids’ end-of-the-year events and a high school graduation.

It has been moderately cool to slightly uncomfortable, very humid, and moist. Connecticut has exploded in green, looking almost like a rainforest in places as wild-growing plants overflow into the roads in many places. The trees are heavy at the tops, blocking much of the sun. I am trying to figure out how we can thin canopies in the trees bordering my yard to let in more sun on my garden spaces.

Tomato and peppers have not germinated. I think I will go ahead and start some indoors even at this late date, and I plan to head to my favorite heirloom seed store in Wethersfield to see what they have in heirloom tomato and pepper plants. I also want to buy thyme and sage plants since my seeds are very slow to germinate. Looks like I will have a lot of corn, beans, cucumbers, radishes, bok choy, snow peas, garlic and red onions so far this year. Oh, and the lemon squash plants are forming true leaves right now, albeit slowly. I am thinking that as soon as we have some warm, sunny days, the garden will explode.

Here are some photos of growth over the past week. Most of the photos I took this morning were blurry — two mugs of coffee and no food makes for a shaky photographer, so these are the ones that are the sharpest. I hope to head out with my tripod later today.

Slugs are eating my spinach and lettuce seedlings, but here is one that has survived.

Slugs are eating my spinach and lettuce seedlings, but here is one that has survived.

French radishes - the stems are already red

French radishes – the stems are already red

Sweet corn growing well -- some has not come up, so I will resow empty spaces

Sweet corn growing well — some has not come up, so I will resow empty spaces

Snow peas at top and garlic 3-4 inches high already

Snow peas at top and garlic 3-4 inches high already

More snow peas (need thinning) and red onions

More snow peas (need thinning) and red onions

Even more snow peas and buckwheat with the white flowers

More snow peas and buckwheat with the white flowers

Common milkweed 3.5 to 4 feet tall already with flower heads forming. These small flower heads are edible, but my milkweed patch is for pollinators only.

Common milkweed 3.5 to 4 feet tall already with flower heads forming. These small flower heads are edible, but my milkweed patch is for pollinators only.

Common milkweed flower head

Common milkweed flower head

One response »

Leave a Reply

