On going home

Standard

It has been two years since I last visited Texas, five years since I have been to Austin.

Next month, I am going home!

texasflag

I’m not a native Texan (poor, poor me). I was a Navy brat, born on a naval base who grew up in Miami. But my mom’s people are from Texas. There is a part of me that is Texan, and when I am there I feel like I am home. I never felt that way growing up in Miami. But hardly anyone is a native Floridian, at least not in the sense that their people are from Florida. Almost everyone is from someplace else. The melting pot and all that.

Texas in August is hot!!! Very, very hot. You get used to walking from your air-conditioned house to your air-conditioned car to an air-conditioned store or office. And you conserve water. You don’t water your yard or wash your car unless it is in a commercial car wash. Austin and surrounding towns enacted some of the most stringent energy and water conservation measures way back in the early 90s. They had to. Everyone kept moving there. And they are moving there again. Texas is booming. As a matter of fact, if I moved there today, I couldn’t afford to rent an apartment.

Now I have something nice to look forward to next month. This month I get to see two of my adult children, my daughter-in-law, and all three of my grandchildren. Lucky me!

Just dreaming, y’all!

2 responses »

    • Oh, it will be hot. It is always hot except for during and after the beautiful thunderstorms that roll through. I am bringing both cameras hoping for a lightning storm to capture. Texas has the most spectacular lightning I have ever seen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

