New England Garden Journal – July Part 3

Standard

My summer garden is actually more like a fall garden, sort of. It looks like I will have a decent harvest of Blue Lake green beans.

Heirloom Blue Lake green beans - bush variety

Heirloom Blue Lake green beans – bush variety. A single deer got into my front garden and trimmed the tops off of most of my bean plants a few weeks ago. They have recovered and are producing heavily now.

Heirloom Pickling Cucumbers growing true leaves now.

Heirloom Pickling Cucumbers growing true leaves now.

One of two leeks that overwintered and have gone to seed.

One of two leeks that overwintered and have gone to seed.

Heirloom sweet corn loving the top dressing of compost and rain we've had the last two days. I had to chase Sam, our old man, out of the garden. No cats allowed!

Heirloom sweet corn loving the top dressing of compost and rain we’ve had the last two days. I had to chase Sam, our old man, out of the garden. No cats allowed!

Zucchini plants growing quickly. Not fast enough for me. I want summer squash to eat now!

Zucchini plants growing quickly. Not fast enough for me. I want summer squash to eat now! I also need to transplant the extra zucchini plants so they are not crowded.

Suyo long cucumber. My favorite slicing cucumber because they don't need to be peeled. I just rub the spines off, wash, then eat. Yummy! Can't wait to taste my first organically-grown cucumber of the season.

Suyo Long cucumber. My favorite slicing cucumber because they don’t need to be peeled. I just rub the spines off, rinse, then eat. Yummy! Can’t wait to taste my first organically-grown cucumber of the season.

Raindrops on dill. Lovely.

Raindrops on dill. Lovely. I made a delicious yogurt dip using my garden dill over the weekend. It was refreshing with cucumbers and carrots (that I had to buy — grrrr).

Sowed a patch of beets that are germinating after all of that rain.

Sowed a patch of beets that are germinating after all of that rain.

2 responses »

  1. Man ol man I love the pics michele! I love the cucumber one with the yellow blossom and I love the herbs with the tiny water droplettes. Your really talented sweety 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

