Going gluten free

Standard

My new neurologist recommended that I go on a gluten-free diet to see if it will alleviate many of the symptoms that I struggle with daily which include joint pain, foggy head, memory problems, cognitive difficulties, muscle pain, fatigue, gastrointestinal problems, and more.
glutenfree
I have considered going gluten free in the past because of how I feel after eating wheat. I do not feel very good after eating bread, even made with organic whole wheat flour. I have gluten-free flour mixes in my pantry that I have not attempted to use. I nibble on Gluten-free crackers, nuts, and dried fruit because I feel better when I eat those foods. But I have never taken the plunge.

This will not be an easy journey. My food budget is about $15-20 a week right now. There is not much gluten-free I can buy for that amount of money. I can, however, use what I have in my pantry, and try to live on almonds, peanut butter and eggs. I am hoping that my garden produces abundantly. I still have quite a bit of my homemade pear vinegar for pickling and cooking.

One concern that I have is B-12. While I am doing okay right now, whole grains are a great source of B-vitamins. I will need to do research into finding healthy sources of vitamins that I might lose by going gluten free.

This will be quite a journey. I will try to record and share my successes and failures, and should start a food journal (not online) along with recording symptoms.

I love a challenge, and I especially like the idea that many of my debilitating symptoms could be alleviated by dietary changes. Here’s hoping . . .

4 responses »

  1. Man sure has messed up wheat…amongst other things huh? I think everyone would feel better not eating that mess including me. Yup we are going to hell in a hand basket!!!

    Like

    • Yep. Breeding for maximum gluten content, the presence of microtoxins, and who knows what else has left wheat a new allergen to so many. What is frustrating is that reading the allergy warnings on the bag of almonds that I bought it states that it might contain wheat. Sigh.

      Like

  2. Michele,
    I was referred to a rheumatologist about a year ago when I had similar symptoms as you. I have an auto-immune disease. The first thing she recommended was that I try gluten free for a month. It made a huge difference. My headaches, fatigue, and achiness improved within the first week. I still have symptoms from time to time, but at a manageable level. I hope it works for you.

    Like

    • I have often wondered why not one of my PCPs referred me to a rheumatologist. I honestly wonder about medicine in Connecticut. That said, it is encouraging to think that some or all of my current symptoms might be managed by diet. I am struggling with the concept of certified GF and trying to just avoid wheat. I think if I am having an autoimmune response to wheat (and other irritants), even the tiniest speck or molecule of wheat could cause problems. This is an issue since the rest of my family is not GF, and certified GF products are expensive. I have a lot of reading and research ahead of me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

