Lemon squash, an heirloom summer variety

Standard

I was out of town for a week, left instructions with my 21-year-old son to water and harvest beans, squash and cucumbers while I was gone and came back to a mostly intact, barely harvested garden. No complaints at all.

Lemon squash plants doing well, a teensy bit of powdery mildew beginning and they are certainly producing now.

Lemon squash plants doing well, a teensy bit of powdery mildew beginning and they are certainly producing now.

I came home to seven lemon squash (my son showed me one he had put in the fridge after photographing the six), one quite oversized and the rest perfect for eating. The oversized fruit was certainly not inedible, just had some seeds forming. After cooking, they were as tender as the rest. My only complaint is the lack of sunshiny yellow squash flavor. When reading reviews for this particular variety on Baker Creek Seeds (I got mine at their Connecticut store: Comstock Ferre & Co.), one common complaint was a lack of flavor. I agree with this assessment. I most likely will not grow this squash again. I really miss the deliciousness of heirloom crookneck or straightneck yellow squash.

Lemon squash grown in 1 week.

Lemon squash grown in 1 week. You can see the subtle stripes when I reduced exposure.

Lemon squash and onions sauteed in butter, seasoned with basil and salt.

Lemon squash and onions sauteed in butter, seasoned with basil and salt.

Prolific and easy to grow, Lemon squash did great in my late New England garden. Just doesn't have enough flavor for my taste.

Prolific and easy to grow, Lemon squash did great in my late New England garden. Just doesn’t have enough flavor for my taste.

Sluggish bee in a Lemon squash blossom

Sluggish bee in a Lemon squash blossom

Lemon squash. I recommend harvesting when the size of small or medium-sized lemons.

Lemon squash. I recommend harvesting when the size of small or medium-sized lemons.

Leave a Reply

