New England Garden Journal – August Part 1

Standard

August 2nd

Remember: You can view all of the photos full-size by clicking on them and then return to the blog post using your back button.

It has been quite dry here in Connecticut with little rain over the summer so far. My organic garden has been doing okay with limited watering, but not producing abundantly. I decided this summer to limit watering and then collect the seeds from the plants that do well. I water deeply and less frequently.

Heirloom Suyo Long cucumber

Heirloom Suyo Long cucumber


I have been harvesting a lot of Suyo Long cucumbers, one or two a day. I still do not have a single tomato growing but I do finally have flowers. Is there time for any tomatoes to reach maturity before cold weather settles in? It will be a race between my tomato plants and nature. I remain optimistic as I contemplate the construction of a hoop house or two for the fall.
Heirloom Moskovich tomato finally blooming

Heirloom Moskovich tomato finally blooming


I have tweeted about my 21-month-old granddaughter spending time with me in the garden. Our favorite thing to do besides jump off the front steps over and over and over again is searching for overgrown snow peas so that I can open the pods up and she can pick out the peas inside, eating them raw. If it is green, this little girl loves it!

I am determined that my grandchildren know where their food comes from. She has helped me pick cucumbers off the vine and then within 10 minutes been nibbling on warm, juicy slices. She has seen my towering corn plants — she loves corn — and, hopefully, will remember those big guys the next time she eats corn.

Early morning sun kissing tall heirloom sweet corn grown intensively in a raised bed - corn is tasseling

Early morning sun kissing tall heirloom sweet corn grown intensively in a raised bed – corn is tasseling


The lemon squash has started producing. I have two pollinated squashes, one almost ready for harvest. I can’t wait to taste this heirloom variety. The zucchini are crowded now, as I expected they would be. Another race, I am hoping I get a harvest to eat sauteed with basil, made into zucchini bread, and for a few jars of zucchini relish.

Lemon squash plants getting ready to spill over into the yard

Lemon squash plants getting ready to spill over into the yard


Open-pollinated Lemon squash -- first fruit of the season

Open-pollinated Lemon squash — first fruit of the season

Heirloom zucchini squash just beginning to form tiny fruit

Heirloom zucchini squash just beginning to form tiny fruit

And finally, tiny pickling cucumbers are getting ready to flower and, after pollination, start giving us lots of cucumbers for making pickles. I am forever an optimist!

Heirloom pickling cucumber forming

Heirloom pickling cucumber forming

Leave a Reply

