New England Garden Journal – August Part 2

Standard

August 19th

Yesterday, I posted on the Lemon squash that I grew this year. Now it is time to visit the rest of the garden, all of which survived while I was out of town, but some damage did occur from a storm and deer visits.

Pickling cucumber almost ready for harvest. Now I need the other vines to grow more so I can pickle them.

Pickling cucumber almost ready for harvest. Now I need the other vines to grow more so I can pickle them.

I love my frog and toad friends who live in my garden. Great for natural pest control.

I love my frog and toad friends who live in my garden. Great for natural pest control.

A storm came through Connecticut while I was in Texas and damaged most of my corn plants. Strangely enough, most of them are still alive and growing, just horizontally.

A storm came through Connecticut while I was in Texas and damaged most of my corn plants. Strangely enough, most of them are still alive and growing, just horizontally.

I have corn!

I have ears of corn forming!

Corn plants bent and broken, still growing but on top of my Moskovich tomato plants.

Corn plants bent and broken, still growing but on top of my Moskovich tomato plants.

My sons hadn't harvested a single Suyo Long cucumber while I was gone. This monster will remain on the vine to mature for seed saving since it is too large to eat.

My sons hadn’t harvested a single Suyo Long cucumber while I was gone. This monster will remain on the vine to mature for seed saving since it is too large to eat.

There were plenty ready for harvest in a variety of sizes. There were still several outside -- my hands were full. I have been eating cucumber all day long. Yummy!

There were plenty ready for harvest in a variety of sizes. There were still several outside — my hands were full. I have been eating cucumber all day long. Yummy!

Cherokee Trail of Tears black beans have been feasted on by deer. The only parts of the plants that have survived are at the top of the bean teepee. I will just save what grows as seed for next year.

Cherokee Trail of Tears black beans have been feasted on by deer. The only parts of the plants that have survived are at the top of the bean teepee. I will just save what grows as seed for next year.

Pear harvest will be small. Fruit is small and numbers are few. I have decided to made pear vinegar with most of the fruit. I am still enjoying last year's pear vinegar and would like some to share at Christmas.

Pear harvest will be small. Fruit is small and numbers are few. I have decided to made pear vinegar with most of the fruit. I am still enjoying last year’s pear vinegar and would like some to share at Christmas.

Backyard garden showing spinach, red onions, and my huge zucchini plants.

Backyard garden showing spinach, red onions, and my huge zucchini plants.

My sons didn’t harvest any of the snow peas, either, so they are done. I am allowing the remaining pods to mature for seed saving. I thought about sowing seeds for a fall harvest, but I’m thinking it is too late. Just a feeling. The spinach has also bolted; I have hopes of saving heirloom spinach seeds.

2 responses »

  1. We sure have been blessed with a ton of beautiful pics since youve been back home…thanks kiddo! They are always enjoyed and appreciated. Love love love

    Like

Leave a Reply

