New England Garden Journal – August Part 3

Standard

In spite of little rain this summer and sporadic watering, my garden full of heirloom vegetables is thriving. After my very late start, it looks like I will get a decent harvest, albeit later than normal. Now if the warm weather will hang around well into September, I will be a very happy organic gardener. I have over a dozen pickling cucumbers ready to be fermented (pickled naturally), and the Suyo Long cucumbers provide a daily supply that are delicious covered in my fermented garlic dill dip made from organic yogurt (I will share the recipe someday).

Zucchini jungle!

Zucchini jungle!

Sweet corn

Sweet corn forming in spite of the damaged corn patch

Sweet corn growing among Moskovich tomatoes

Sweet corn growing among Moskovich tomatoes

And we have tomatoes, finally. I can't wait to taste my first Moskovich.

And we have tomatoes, finally. I can’t wait to taste my first Moskovich.

Black bean flowers signaling beans in the future.

Black bean flowers signaling beans in the future.

Teensy, weensy baby bell peppers.

Teensy, weensy baby bell peppers.

Two of my three bell pepper plants in grow bags

Two of my three bell pepper plants in grow bags. I hope there is time for a few of them to mature before the first frost.

Cherry tomatoes from the garden volunteers

Cherry tomatoes from the garden volunteers

Terraced bed overgrown with Lemon squash vines

Terraced bed overflowing with Lemon squash vines which are now covered with powdery mildew

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

