New England Garden Journal – September Part 1

Standard

September, oh September, you started off with a fall.

I literally fell on Labor Day. After spending 4 hours in the ER, having a possible surgery scare, I was back home actually excited about pain medication. Chipped elbow bone, small but deep laceration, IV and oral antibiotics, I am muddling through until it heals.

Since I am supposed to keep my right arm immobilized, I haven’t been out to the garden until today. You don’t want to skip three days in a late summer garden. Things can grow really big while you aren’t looking.

Lots and lots of bell peppers. These are my grow bag plants.

Lots and lots of bell peppers. These are my grow bag plants.

Heirloom variety of black beans producing now.

Heirloom variety of black beans producing now.

Suyo Long cucumber escaped its raised bed and climbed the cattle panel fencing. They grow straight when vines are trellised and curved when grown on the ground.

Suyo Long cucumber escaped its raised bed and climbed the cattle panel fencing. They grow straight when vines are trellised and curved when grown on the ground.

My seed cucumber is huge and turning yellow. You can see an immature cucumber growing on the left.

My seed cucumber is huge and turning yellow. You can see an immature cucumber growing on the left.

Dragonfly landed right in front of me and posted for the camera.

Dragonfly landed right in front of me and posed for the camera. I love dragonflies mostly because they can eat their body weight in mosquitoes every day.

The rest of the photos didn’t turn out very well. It isn’t easy taking photos with an arm that I am not supposed to be using. So this will be all this week. I picked, podded and sowed a bunch of snow pea seeds last week which are already germinating. I need to sow some lettuce, spinach and bok choy seeds very soon. The corn is getting fatter, pickling cucumbers are prolific, tomatoes are growing but not ripening yet, and the lemon squash is covered in powdery mildew but producing lots of squash. The zucchini squash in the back yard are producing well, too, with no sign of powdery mildew yet. Here’s to hoping that warm weather continues for at least two more weeks. I want tomatoes and peppers!

One response »

  1. Boy those veggies really take off huh after the three days. Wow stuff is really growing. I think the weather has been quite kind to start your gardens late this year. All looks well except for the ol boo boo arm. Poor thing! As for the dragon fly…I love them from afar but as for up close…SCARYYY!!! Ugh, only a face its mother can love…ugh!!! Whats odd tho is it looks as if its smiling. Think imma gonna take off running…

    Like

Leave a Reply

