New England Organic Garden: September update

Standard

These photos were taken the week ending September 28th (computer software issues prevented me from processing them sooner).

Mammoth sunflower plants that aren't, but pretty just the same.

Mammoth sunflower plants that aren’t because of long dry spells, but pretty just the same.


I remember as I was lamenting my very late garden this past spring that if only the weather stays warm longer than normal, I will get a harvest of tomatoes. Well, I was apparently feeling a bit prophetic. We have had warm weather with highs in the mid-60s, 70s and even 80s the past two weeks, and the weather forecast for the next week indicates temperatures in the mid-60s during the day.

I am harvesting and enjoying my late tomatoes very much. Moskovich is my absolute favorite for flavor, and I discovered the key to no cracking: steady water supply — not allowing the soil to dry out, ever. The raised bed were I grew Moskovich’s is above a natural spring which keeps that bed moist at all times. The tomatoes were thrilled. Next year, I will put together a drip irrigation system for my tomato plants set on a timer so that they remain uniformly moist at all times (because I practice crop rotation, I will not be planting tomatoes in that bed next year). No stressed plants, no rush of water for thirsty plants to quickly draw up, and no cracked tomatoes.

Moskovich tomatoes finally ripening. These two have since been harvested, ripened, and sliced for sandwiches. Yummy!

Moskovich tomatoes finally ripening. These two have since been harvested, ripened, and sliced for sandwiches. Yummy!

Mutt cherry tomato that was a volunteer in my front garden, a cross between Black Cherry and Yellow Pear cherry tomatoes. The taste of these little treasures is amazing! Again, yummy!

Mutt cherry tomato that was a volunteer in my front garden, a cross between Black Cherry and Yellow Pear cherry tomatoes. The taste of these little treasures is amazing! Again, yummy!

We had a week of decent rains and my pears plumped right up. They are juicy and oh, so sweet.  Crop was very small this year, though. Probably only 20 pounds total?

We had a week of decent rains and my pears plumped right up. They are juicy and oh, so sweet. Crop was very small this year, though. Probably only 20 pounds total?

Suyo Long cucumber filled with lots of mature seeds. This cucumber probably weighs three or four pounds. It is huge.

Suyo Long cucumber filled with lots of mature seeds which I will save for next year (and share with some friends). This cucumber probably weighs 3 or 4 pounds and is approximately 22 inches long. It is huge.

Happy gardening, folks. And happy Autumn!

3 responses »

  1. Happy autumn to you sweety. As usual I loved the pics. I would love to try some tomato samiches…lol those pears look great…too bad that you dont have a huge crop of those cuz I adore pear preserves and I know you would whip up a batch for me. Dont know about that cuke…its the color…sorry! Isnt that the ones that your saving seeds? I love the fall…especially the colors and that crispness in the air. I still like the winter best so long as we dont have to deal with a vortex…blah! Double blah to shovel. Technically I love to shovel but my old bod cant take the strain of that…scared of heart attacks. I know you feel the same. Randy use to say that nobody can shovel like me…a real machine. I think the compliments were so I would do it and so id show off to his lazy azz. BLAHHH!!!

    Like

    • Thanks, Kathy. I wish I had taken a video of my 14yo eating his first cherry tomato. The smile was priceless they are so good. The cucumber pictured was allowed to mature for seed saving. It is inedible. Squash and cucumbers are eaten when the fruits are immature, except for winter squashes and pumpkins. I cut open one of the mature Lemon squashes yesterday, and it looks similar to the inside of a pumpkin with strings and an empty space containing the mature seeds. Seed saving sure is interesting.

      Like

  2. Yup that cuke did look inedible…yucky color…lol but it is awesome to grow some purely for seed and seed sharing. I bet it was sooo cute watching him eating that cherry tomato. Was that jonathan? Call me this weekend when and if you have free time. Ttyl

    Like

Leave a Reply

