Do NOT buy Office 2013 or Office 365

Standard

I am taking a course entitled, “Business Software Applications” to fulfill my computer requirement for my degree. When I rented my textbook, it was packaged with Office 365 which is 2013. The textbook is all about Office 2010.

Now try to imagine a group of online students trying to follow directions for assignments telling us to choose a particular theme or template or color palette and those choices are just not available. Now imagine we all go looking for answers to how we can complete these assignments that are supposed to teach us particular software applications (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.) and we discover that this is happening all over the U.S. Students are expected to complete projects with the wrong tools.

What happened between Office 2010 and Office 2013? Well, Microsoft decided that there were just too many choices in theme, color, style, chart, and so on. They stripped the software down so that there are only a handful of choices for each of those categories.

I am working on an Excel project that tells me to use “Clustered Cylinder column chart, Layout 1, Style 26.”

There is no such thing. As a matter of fact, there are no cylinder column chart styles available at all. Being a resourceful person, I figure there must be a backdoor way to format my chart so that the columns are cylindrical instead of rectangular. Nope.

This course is pure torture for me and my fellow students.

Microsoft be cursed!!!

I am heading over to my old laptop to finish this project, and I will NOT use the newer software for this course anymore. It is wrong to expect us to use a software that doesn’t work with the course, so I’m not going to do it.

I don’t blame the publisher or the professor. They both got screwed by Microsoft.

Solution: Microsoft should make old templates, themes and version style packs available for download after a huge update such as 2013. That is the LEAST they can do.

Suggestion: For those of you with 2010 or older versions of Office: hang onto them. You will be really, really unhappy with the newer versions.

Leave a Reply

