Wildfires bring perspective

Standard

As I grumbled about being too warm yesterday because we only have two working air conditioners on the main floor of the house (small window units), thousands of people were either at risk or in the process of losing their homes and homesteads (orchards, gardens, crops and livestock) to wildfires.

As I cried for the losses of people I don’t even know, I felt, once again, how wrong it is to complain about small and seemingly large inconveniences.

Washington State Fire Map

Washington State Fire Map

Here is the reality check:  my home and property are not at risk of being destroyed by fire, war, or storm at any time in the near future.

I have electricity, running, unlimited potable water, working appliances (esp. washer and dryer — I have been without for up to a year in the past), my children and grandchildren are healthy.  I am able to sit at the computer and write.  I can read books to which I have free access through public libraries.  I have a computer, a Kindle, cell phone and semi-working tablet on which to read thousands of free books.  I have internet access. My car is running.  My children and I have food to eat and clothes to wear.

My youngest son and I start school on the same day.  I have  access to educational opportunities even though I am a woman.  Think about other countries where girls are denied an education and women are the property of their fathers and husbands — I am blessed.

To me, life can be difficult because of my health issues and economic challenges. But, in contrast to what others are facing in the western United States and around the world, we want for nothing of significance.

Perspective.

P.S. My heart goes out to the families of the firefighters lost in the line of duty. I am so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

