That Texas sky

Standard

I flew to the Austin area last week to be with my critically-ill mother and family. It was a heart-wrenching, emotional trip. Although I had my camera, I took few pictures. I didn’t have the energy, to be honest.

Here is what I did capture:

Texas 620 traveling from Round Rock to Cedar Park, Texas after sunset.

RM 620 traveling from Round Rock to Cedar Park, Texas. Chasing the sun.

Traveling west on 620 from Round Rock to Cedar Park, Texas.

Traveling west on RM 620 from Round Rock to Cedar Park, Texas.

My youngest granddaughter. There were four generations in my mom's ICU room.

My youngest granddaughter. There were four generations in my mom’s ICU room.

I had to leave my sick mom, my daughter, granddaughter, stepdad, oldest son, daughter-in-law, and their two little ones (my oldest granddaughter and grandson) in Texas when I flew home. I miss all of them so much.

That saying, “I left my heart in Texas” rings partially true for me. I left half of my heart in Texas when I flew back to Connecticut where my other sons are living (three with me).

There is beauty and sadness in my life right now.

I am moving forward while leaving little parts of myself in places of the past.

Sometimes it is very hard to be a woman: sister, daughter, wife, mother, friend. It is a hard time.

Some days I just am.

That Texas sky is always there. It reminds me that the world is so much bigger than what I face. And it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

