We all like good news

Standard

fall hope

I know, I know. It is supposed to say, “Happy Thanksgiving!” or something fall-ish, but there is hope that my mom will recover from this last bad health scare (it was really, really bad). The hospital is responsible for a big part of what went wrong, and healthcare professionals are responsible for most of why she is recovering.

My mom is breathing without a ventilator, is responsive, talking, can accomplish small tasks, and is getting better every day.

It has been an emotional, traumatic experience for all of us. Being far away makes it so much worse because I can’t just go sit with her and hold her hand. I can’t be there to ensure that the hospital is taking good care of my mom. But they are.

So many people have been praying, and I thank everyone for taking a few minutes here and there to think about my family.

There is hope that my mom will be home in a month or so (after a time in a rehabilitation facility). Now to get back to packing up so I can move back to Texas. My heart is there (and most of my family).

There is hope. There is always hope.

2 responses »

  1. I’m sorry to hear that your mom has been having a hard time. Sounds like your planning to head closer to “home” soon… I hope all of the decisions that your making for your move come to you easily. My mom passed away on August 30th after a very difficult summer health wise and a short two weeks of living with a cancer diagnosis. I was six to eight hours away and spent the summer traveling back and forth to be with her, so I empathize with you. I hope that each day goes as well as it can for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

