The reason I started this blog was to aid other parents and individuals in the transition from conventional foods to healthier, non-GMO, and hopefully organic foods, to deviate from the normal food path that most Americans find themselves on.  Much of what I post will be delicious.  Learning to enjoy yogurt, kefir, kombucha won’t be so difficult if it is balanced with delicious cupcakes, homemade ginger ale, freshly baked bread, and yummy meals.  I am not a vegetarian or vegan.  My kids would rebel (they are older, some adults even), and I would rebel.  I can’t afford organic or grass-fed meat, either, so don’t worry about extremes here.

If you have wandered around my blog you will realize that I also take photographs, like to write, and on occasion delve into the religious and political world (I spend a lot of time researching and learning but try to keep my writing about these two mostly taboo subjects to a minimum). I do try to also share what it is like to live in Connecticut from an outsider’s point of view. My other blog, “Texas Adventures in New England” was focused on just this, and I am thinking about using it again just for that purpose and to highlight more of my photography. Additionally, I use this blog as my garden journal, keeping track of what crops worked, which didn’t, what planting times provided success; tracking the development of my garden and chronicling its progress overall. I do this for me, but others on occasion benefit from what I share.

On a personal level, I am a 53-year old mother of six and grandmother of two granddaughters and one grandson. I am a single mom, lover of literature, occasional gamer (my best gamer friends are two ladies in their 70s), and I yearn for Texas. I have lived in Virginia, Italy, Florida (Miami, St. Petersburg and Clearwater), Texas (Austin and Cedar Park), and California (Ventura). I love to take road trips but only if we can get off the highway and go exploring back roads. Before I got sick with Lyme disease I loved camping and hiking. I delight in a nice glass of Malbec with my spaghetti, a good imported beer with my pizza, and in the wintertime my very own Apple Cider Margueritas all by themselves. I started college the spring of 2013 and absolutely love it! I enjoy knitting, reading, quiltmaking, sewing (when I feel up to it), and gardening. I love to figure things out (how they work and why they don’t). I love to be alone but love time with my family and friends, too. I have not figured out what I want to be when I grow up but I am thinking it will involve words and computers, possibly politics or non-profits. I am still figuring things out. Nice to meet you!

6 responses »

    • I have read that they grow naturally in many parts of the US but I have never seen them here. I have seen some other varieties of nightshade in my wanderings but not any that look like ground cherry.

      Like

  1. Thank you for your “hindsight” post — I’m just a smidge younger than you and have two teenage sons — who don’t want to be hugged, and who roll their eyes when I tell them I love them. Your affirmation that these are good actions and words is much appreciated!

    Like

    • You are welcome. I was talking to one of my sons the other day and told him about the phase where they must disconnect from mom and begin to look outward for female attention. This is all a part of the transition to manhood. It is tough when they aren’t our sweet little boys anymore.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s